New members join Denver City Council

In the runoff several incumbents lost out; Hancock to continue serving as mayor


This post will be updated on June 15 with an official count from the Denver Elections Division.

The early numbers are in for the runoff election, and several new councilmembers will be joining the ranks on July 15. Meanwhile, incumbent Michael B. Hancock was reelected mayor.

The runoff ballot, which was decided by Denver voters on June 4, included council districts 1, 3, 5, 9 and 10. City rules state that anyone running for a municipal election, with the exception of city council-at-large, must win at least 50% of the vote. The mayor and city clerk and recorder positions also were being decided on the runoff ballot. The top two candidates were selected for the runoff election.

The Denver Elections Division released unofficial results at 12:45 p.m. on June 5. An official count will be certified on June 15.

During the initial election on May 7, more than 186,000 voters participated. Around 165,000 voters returned to the polls less than one month later for the runoff. The last time a runoff election was held in 2015, and around 29,000 voters participated. The runoff that year did not include the mayor on the ballot. In 2011, Michael B. Hancock faced off against Chris Romer in a runoff to decide who would succeed John Hickenlooper as mayor. Hancock won his first term that year. Around 123,000 voters participated in that runoff election.

In the race for mayor, Jamie Giellis faced off against Hancock. Hancock won a third term as mayor with 56.3% of the votes (91,464). Giellis received 43.7% of the votes (70,945).

Former city councilmember Paul López continued to fight a tight race against Peg Perl for the office of Clerk and Recorder. Unofficial counts from the Denver Elections Division showed López pulling slightly ahead with 50.1% (72,405), and Perl with 49.9% (72,090).

In the case of close races, Denver Elections Division will only hold a recount if the tallies are within one-half of 1% of each other.

For council districts covered by Life on Capitol Hill, districts 9 and 10 went to the runoff. They cover the Elyria Swansea, Downtown and City Park neighborhoods and the Congress Park, Capitol Hill and Golden Triangle neighborhoods respectively.

During the May election, incumbent Albus Brooks fought a tight race against opponent Candi CdeBaca with the former getting 45% of the votes, and the latter 43%. In the runoff, CdeBaca pulled ahead of Brooks, winning 52.4% of the votes (8,388), to Brooks' 47.6% (7,607).

Incumbent Wayne New also lost his seat in District 10. He faced off against Chris Hinds, who had 53.4% of the votes (9,730). New received 46.6% of the votes (8,487).

In the last election, in 2015, former city councilmember Raphael Espinoza became the first city council candidate to unseat an incumbent since 1987, according to Ballotopedia. Espinoza represented District 1 for a single four-year term, and decided not to run again this election. This year, three incumbents were unseated.

The new Denver City Council is as follows:

District 1: Amanda Sandoval (new councilmember)

District 2: Kevin Flynn (re-elected)

District 3: Jamie Torres (new councilmember)

District 4: Kendra Black (re-elected)

District 5: Amanda Sawyer (new councilmember)

District 6: Paul Kashmann (re-elected)

District 7: Jolon Clark (re-elected)

District 8: Chris Herndon (re-elected)

District 9: Candi CdeBaca (new councilmember)

District 10: Chris Hinds (new councilmember)

District 11: Stacie Gilmore (re-elected)

City Council-at-Large: Deborah Ortega (re-elected)

City Council-at-Large: Robin Kniech (re-elected)

The new city council, and well as Hancock, will be sworn in on July 15. To learn more about the council districts, and where they are located, go to

In addition to the runoff election, a new initiative was included on the June ballot. Initiative 302, or Let Denver Vote, allows the citizens of Denver to vote on the use of tax dollars to put in a bid to host the Olympics in the city. The initiative passed, with 79.3% (118,647) of voters saying yes, compared to the 20.7% (31,048) who said no.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.